April 24, 2011

Google storage

Disclaimer: this was true as of posting 4/2011
Google storage: How it works (http://docs.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=39567)

Google offers a way to purchase more storage space when you run out of free storage space in Gmail, Google Docs, Picasa Web Albums, Blogger (for photos), and Google Buzz (for photos). You can purchase additional storage at any time.

Google Apps storage: Google storage is available at the same prices and storage levels for Google Apps users. However, this purchased storage will not apply to Gmail.

Free storage space is specific to each product:

  • Picasa Web Albums offers 1 GB of storage for photos and videos only. (All photos posted to both Google Buzz and Blogger are included in the 1 GB of free storage allotted to Picasa Web Albums.)
  • Gmail provides 7+ GB (and counting) which is reserved just for Gmail messages. 
  • Docs gives you 1 GB for your uploaded files (documents created in Google Docs and converted files don't count towards your storage, but do have some size limitations-- see here: http://docs.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=37603).
Free storage from one product cannot be used by or transferred to another product.

Paid Storage:

When you run out of free storage for any product, you can purchase additional storage that is shared between products. This shared storage can be used for Picasa Web Albums uploads (Google Buzz and Blogger as well), Gmail messages, Docs uploads or a mix of all three - it will be used by any product that's over its free storage quota on a first-come, first-served basis. Choose from the following storage plans:
  • 20 GB - $5/yr
  • 80 GB - $20/yr
  • 200 GB - $50/yr
  • 400 GB - $100/yr
  • 1 TB - $256/yr
  • 2 TB - $512/yr
  • 4 TB - $1024/yr
  • 8 TB - $2048/yr
  • 16 TB - $4096/yr
Please note that:
  • 1 TB equals 1024 GB
These prices don't include any applicable taxes or fees associated with your country of residence.

Google storage purchases are non-refundable. You can upgrade storage plans for the pro-rated difference at any time. The Google storage you purchase is yours for the full year, at which time the plan will auto-renew based on your preference.

Paid storage for one Google Account cannot be transferred to a different account. Learn more about Google storage refunds, renewals and cancellations: http://picasa.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=57602

What happens to my data (email, photos, or docs) after my subscription expires?

After your storage expires (including the 30-day grace period) or after you cancel the subscription, your storage limits will be set back to the free levels for each product. All of your existing data (photos, emails, uploaded files) will still be accessible, but you won't be able to add anything new for any product over the free storage limit. Here are the specifics:
  • Gmail (7+ GB free storage): If you're at or beyond your storage limit, all new incoming emails will hard bounce. This means your inbox is full; you won't receive new email.
  • Picasa Web Albums (1 GB free storage): If you're at or beyond your storage limit, you will not be able to upload any new photos and videos.
  • Docs (1 GB free storage): If you're at or beyond your storage limit, you will not be able to upload any new files.

No comments:

Post a Comment